Mason Brauer ’24 honored as Student Lincoln Laureate

February 08, 2024

Mason Brauer

Aurora University student Mason Brauer ’24 has been recognized with the Abraham Lincoln Civic Engagement Award, representing AU as Student Laureate of The Lincoln Academy of Illinois.

In the spirit of Abraham Lincoln, Student Laureates are honored for their “leadership and service in pursuit of the betterment of humanity and for overall excellence in curricular and extracurricular activities,” according to the Springfield, Illinois-based nonprofit organization.

Brauer is the president of the Aurora University Students’ Association (AUSA), president of the AU Pre-Law Student Association, vice president of finance of the AU Professional Sales Association, and chairman of the AU Science Organization. His other campus activities include membership in the AU HOSA - Future Health Professionals, Chess Club, Circle K, Latin American Student Organization (LASO), Phi Eta Sigma (Freshman Honors Society), Pi Sigma Alpha (Political Science Honors Society), Pinky Swear, Psi Chi (Psychology Honor Society), and Psychology Club. He has also served as a Spartan Ambassador, peer advisor intern, peer tutor, orientation leader, and Career Services intern.

Upon graduating with a bachelor’s degree in health science and political science and public policy with minors in chemistry, physiology, and psychology, Brauer plans to pursue a master’s degree in public administration. His ultimate goal is to become a medical lawyer and make a positive societal impact.

“AU has been the greatest stepping stone in my journey through life. I have been given many leadership and growth opportunities, and the supportive community of faculty, staff, and students has continually pushed me to dive further into figuring out what I’m passionate about and helping me prepare for my career, life, and continuing education after graduation,” said Brauer.

Each fall, The Lincoln Academy awards the Abraham Lincoln Civic Engagement Award to one outstanding senior from each of the participating colleges and universities in Illinois. The Student Laureates receive a letter and certificate of merit signed by Governor J.B. Pritzker, a Lincoln medallion, a challenge coin, and a $500 check.