Dunham School of Business & Public Policy Student Organization

Students in our Dunham School of Business & Public Policy programs benefit from student-led professional organizations that provide extracurricular activities, bring lectures and networking opportunities to campus, and foster discussions on current trends in the business, nonprofit, and public sector worlds. Many of these organizations are open to students at both the undergraduate and graduate levels.

Our student organizations include:

AU/AMA (American Marketing Association Collegiate Chapter)
Aurora University is home to the top-ranked American Marketing Association Collegiate Chapter. AU/AMA has won numerous national awards, student scholarships, and juried case competitions, position AU/AMA as a national flagship program. While the focus of AU/AMA is on developing future marketing professionals, students from all majors are welcome to join any number of the various groups that comprise AU/AMA (i.e., professional development, media production, public relations, Marketing Solutions (community outreach and consulting), sales competition, etc.).
Advisors: Brian Vander Schee (bvanders@aurora.edu), Shawn Green (sgreen@aurora.edu), and David Perkins (dperkins@aurora.edu)

AU Finance Association (AUFA)
The AU Student Finance Club provides leadership opportunities and experiences for finance students, and helps guide students on a path toward professional and personal success in the field. Students will have the opportunity to participate in nationwide portfolio management and equity research competitions. Most importantly, students will be able to connect with field professionals ready to advance their careers.
Advisors: Ileana Brooks (ibrooks@aurora.edu) and Andrew Carr (acarr@aurora.edu) 

AU Spartan Media (News-Radio-TV)
AU Spartan Media (AUSM) is Aurora University’s student news and media source. Members of AUSM cover news, sports, and culture of the AU community. The auspartanmedia.com site is an online-only multimedia newspaper/eZine for the publication of articles, podcasts, videos, and photos. Through hands-on experience in AU's media studio, members of the AUSM organization are able to learn the art and craft of producing video and audio content for various media outlets. AU Spartan Media also produces a number of web-based television shows freely available to the public. All members of the AU community are invited to join the media team (no experience required).
Advisors: Matt Kneller (mkneller@aurora.edu) and Pam Wicks (pwicks@aurora.edu)

AU Speech Team (AU Speech & Debate; Forensics) 
Aurora University is host to a nationally ranked speech and debate team that students from all majors are invited to join (no experience required). Students travel to compete against other colleges and universities while developing vital professional and creative speaking skills in interpretative, public address, and argumentative formats and forums. 
Advisors: Brianne Giese (bgiese@aurora.edu) and Giselle Betts (gbetts@aurora.edu)

Delta Mu Delta (Business Honor Society)
Delta Mu Delta is a business honor society that recognizes and encourages academic excellence of students at AU. Students who meet the academic standards for invitation to join DMD have a proven track record of working hard to achieve excellence in their studies. DMD membership shows that students have the knowledge and drive to succeed in a business career. Membership in Delta Mu Delta fulfills one of the requirements for entrance at the GS-7 level in numerous professional and technical positions within federal service. This enables DMD members to start their government career at a higher level of salary than might otherwise be possible DMD is a community that fosters the well-being of its individual members and the business community through life-time membership.
Advisor: Tim Moran (tmoran@aurora.edu)

Global Leadership Organization (GLO)
G.L.O is a business based organization that is open to all Aurora University students of any major. We educate and help develop leadership capabilities through networking and volunteer project opportunities.
Advisor: Jack Harrington (jharring@aurora.edu)

Lambda Pi Eta (Communication Honors Society)
Lambda Pi Eta (LPH) is the National Communication Association’s official honor society at four-year colleges and universities. LPH has more than 500 active chapters at four-year colleges and universities nationwide. LPH represents what Aristotle described in Rhetoric as three ingredients of persuasion: logos (Lambda), meaning logic; pathos (Pi), relating to emotion; and ethos (Eta), defined as character credibility and ethics. After completing the AU LPH chapter's requirements, students may be eligible to grade with LPH honors and be officially inducted into this national communication honors society.
Advisor: Jeanine McMillen (jmcmillen@aurora.edu) and Pam Wicks (pwicks@aurora.edu)

Nonprofit Leadership Alliance (NLA Local Student Chapter)
AU's local student chapter of the Nonprofit Leadership Alliance student organization provides all AU students the opportunity to change the world through out-of-class leadership development in the nonprofit sector. The club is part of AU's collaboration with the Nonprofit Leadership Alliance national headquarters, designed to prepare students to earn the Certified Nonprofit Professional (CNP) credential, conferred by the NLA.
Advisor: Jacqueline Babb (jbabb@aurora.edu)

Peace Corp Prep Program
AU is one of only a few colleges and universities in the country that have a formal partnership with the US Peace Corp and its Peace Corp Prep Program. The Peace Corp is one of the challenging organizations in the world to enter, with higher rejection rates than even some of America's leading Ivy League colleges. Through AU's Peace Corp Prep Program (housed in Leadership Studies), students are guided through a curriculum and set of out-of-class experiences designed to help AU students more successful transition to a career in global service.
Advisors: Renee Kosiarek (rkosiarek@aurora.edu) and Amir St. Clair (astclair@aurora.edu

Political Science & Public Policy Club
AU's Political Science & Public Policy Club is devoted to out-of-class opportunities that engage AU's student body in the politics of now through engaged community services, invited guest speakers, field trips to Chicago (i.e., City Club, Council of Global Affairs), and special opportunities to interact with leading public policy figures.
Advisor: Matt Dabros (mdabros@aurora.edu) and Mark Petersen (mpetersen@aurora.edu)

Professional Sales Team
AU’s Professional Sales Team (part of AU/AMA) is focused on sales as a fundamental business skill for leaders across industries. While some people may possess an extroverted sales personality that makes them a natural fit for the career, effective selling is still a skill that must be developed. Through AU’s Professional Sales Club, students engage in sales training that can help aspiring salespeople develop and practice the skills they need to succeed and increase their confidence level. The Professional Sales Club provides students with opportunities and guidance to develop and sharpen professional sales skills, to enrich leadership abilities, and to build alliance with corporate partners. The club offers students exclusive opportunity and experiences to increase their professional career success through simulations and case competitions.
Advisor: Shawn Green (sgreen@aurora.edu)

Student Accounting Society
The AU Student Accounting Society serves as a resource for learning and networking in the business world, as well as a place to gather and discuss information with an emphasis on the accounting profession.
Advisor: Don Danner (ddanner@aurora.edu)