Schingoethe Fellowship

The Schingoethe Post-Baccalaureate Fellowship Program

What is the Fellowship?

The Schingoethe Fellowship program is a one-year paid internship in the Schingoethe Center for Native American Cultures that is available to any recent Aurora University graduate in good standing. The appointment begins June 1 and ends May 31 of the following year. The fellow enters the position with the goal of attending graduate school and will be mentored by the staff of the Schingoethe Center toward that goal. The program is designed to allow the fellow to gain relevant work experience while also preparing him or her for advanced graduate work. The Schingoethe Fellow becomes an integral member of the museum staff and participates in all aspects of the museum operation, including collections care and registration, exhibit installation, giving guided tours of the museum, and administrative assistance.

Past Fellows

Who has served as fellows in previous years? Here is a list of Aurora University graduates who have served in the position.

Name Year Major
Caroline Wadell 2002-2003 History
Greg Swedberg 2003-2004 History
Nathan Riemer 2006-2007 Sociology
Sonia Valenzuela 2008-2009 English and Spanish
Sarah Kimes 2009-2010 English
Erin Legge 2010-2011 Master of Arts in Teaching
Elizabeth Easto 2012-2013 Master of Arts in Historical Administration

Past Fellowship Research Projects

The fellow takes on many roles and responsibilities within the museum, but academic pursuits are never far away. As part of the appointment, the fellow is given the privilege of choosing an emphasis of study that will culminate in an exhibit or lecture at the end of the academic year. The list of titles below reflects the depth and diversity that past fellows have brought to the position.

Sonia curated an exhibit that featured the photographs of Dr. Denise Hatcher in "The Lure of Language: A Personal Portrait of Mexico, Spain & Costa Rica"

Sarah explored contemporary artwork in her lecture "Identity and Expression in Contemporary Native Female Art: Featuring the Art of Kay WalkingStick and Emmi Whitehorse"