General Interest Organizations

General interest student organizations:

  • Activities Programming Board (APB)
    The main programming board for Aurora University. Assists Student Activities in coordinating and sponsoring a wide variety of entertainment, cultural, educational, recreational and social events on campus.
    Advisor: Brandy Skierkiewicz; bskierki@aurora.edu
  • Aurora University Pride Alliance (AUPA)
    Aurora University’s Pride Alliance envisions an Aurora campus community where lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersex, queer, same-gender-loving, and questioning people and our allies are fully included, welcomed, and treated with equity in every respect; where people of all sexual orientations and gender identities are free to successfully live, love and learn without fear, hate, or intolerance; and where justice, equality and respect for all prevail.
    Advisor: Barbara Strassberg; bstrass@aurora.edu
  • Awareness, Respect, Dignity, Sisterhood, Empowerment (A.R.I.S.E.)
    We emulate a higher standard of ourselves for which we hold each other accountable. We are socially responsible students who are dedicated to the essence of building awareness, self-respect, and empowerment.
    Advisor: Kidada Robinson; krobinso@aurora.edu
  • Chess Club
    The goal of chess club is to teach the beginning steps of chess, understanding the entire game including: pieces, strategies, fun and purpose of chess.
    Advisor: Kylor Berkman; kberkman@aurora.edu
  • Fashion Loves You (FLY)
    Gives students the opportunity to showcase self-expression and confidence through fashion.
    Advisor: Rebecca Ruffin; rruffin@aurora.edu
  • Games Club
    Gives students the chance to develop the skills of strategic and critical thinking, leadership and teamwork through the playing of a variety of games.
    Advisor: Joseph Lantz; jlantz@aurora.edu
  • NOLOS (AU Literary Magazine)
    Nolos is AU's student run Literary Magazine. We accept online submissions (nolos@aurora.edu) from the student body as well as the faculty, staff, and alumni.
    Advisor: Bridgite Barclay; bbarclay@aurora.edu
  • The Actor’s and Playwright's Society (TAPS)
    Educates and builds on theatre skills to engage students through the use of dramatics while entertaining and diversifying the campus community.
    Advisor: Eduardo Frajman; efrajman@aurora.edu