Contact Us

Alicia Cosky, Ed.D. - Dean of Faculty DevelopmentDr. Alicia Cosky
Dunham Hall 225

Dr. Alicia Cosky currently serves as Dean of Faculty Development and coordinates the Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning. She is responsible for the professional development and mentoring of the Aurora University faculty (full-time, adjunct and pro-rata appointments). She serves as a member of the senior academic leadership team and works in close collaboration with the president, provost, vice president for academic affairs and other administrative personnel. She is an advocate for the faculty in all such settings. Dr. Cosky initiated and facilitates the FAC1000 Developing Teaching Effectiveness Course required of all new full-time faculty. She works closely with the Faculty Development Committee as an ex officio member, in the planning, delivery and assessment of development programs. Dr. Cosky develops leadership among directors and chairs through sessions that provide direction and mentoring to successfully meet the responsibilities of academic program administration in curriculum development, program assessment, development of adjunct faculty, teaching performance evaluations, and annual performance reviews. She serves as a resource to the Faculty Personnel Committee and to the Educational Affairs Committee of the Board of Trustees.

Dr. Cosky began her tenure at Aurora University in 1993 as Chair of the Physical Education Program. Under her leadership as Director and Professor, the Athletic Training Education Program became NATA certified; two new majors were developed, Fitness & Health Promotion and Coaching & Youth Sport Development; and the K-12 Physical Education Program became NCATE/NASPE accredited. She also served as an Assistant Athletic Director for Facilities, and Chair of the Faculty Senate.

Joyce PrattJoyce Pratt - Administrative Assistant
Dunham Hall 238

Joyce Pratt serves as Administrative Assistant to the Dean of Faculty. She supports the Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning and the Faculty Development Committee, as well as the Departments of Business, Communications, Criminal Justice and History at Aurora University. She graduated from North Central College, earning a B.A. in Biology. Prior to joining Aurora University, Mrs. Pratt served as office assistant for the Career Services office at Waubonsee Community College.

CETL Location

Mailing and Shipping Address

Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning
Dunham Hall 236
Aurora University
347 S Gladstone Ave.
Aurora, Illinois  60506

Physical Address

Dunham Hall 238 (campus map)
(second floor of Dunham Hall)
Aurora University






Office Hours

8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday

2014-2015 Faculty Development Committee

Committee Members and Event Contact Information

Julie Hipp,
Faculty Development Committee Chair
“General Education Courses” Series
630-844-6503 | Eckhart 403

Brenda Barnwell,
“Discovering Your Students” Series
630-947-8933 | Orchard Center 300

Joan Erickson,
Course Portfolio Projects
630-844-5685 | Institute 215

Sara Johnson,
George Williams Campus Liaison
262-245-8527 | Meyer 219

Sarah Radtke,
Faculty Fellow
630-844-5113 | Alumni 133

Heidi Schlumpf,
"Best Practices" Series and Trumbo Award Winner Luncheons
630-844-3694 | Duhham 017

Stephanie Whitus,
CETL Website Contributions
630-844-7532 | Dunham 233

Mark Zelman,
"Technology" Series
630-844-7532 | Dunham 233

Alicia Cosky,
Dean of Faculty Development, Ad hoc member
Social Events
630-844-5116 | Dunham 225